Is your car a lemon? The definition of a “lemon” car varies from state-to-state, but generally speaking, it describes a car with a serious defect that affects its safety, use, or value.
Automotive lemon laws are designed to protect consumers from losing out if they buy a shoddy vehicle. This means that if the manufacturer is unable to repair the car within a certain time period they are legally required to replace it.
Sounds great, right? Well, it isn’t always so simple, and in most states the rules only apply to new cars. Even the states that cover used cars have different criteria for what vehicles are eligible.
Let’s take a quick look at the lemon laws in seven states that offer protection whether you are buying or leasing a brand-new or a secondhand ride, to see exactly what rights you have.
In California, the lemon law covers new and used cars that come with the manufacturer’s new vehicle warranty. If there’s a problem, the manufacturer or dealer has to fix it within a “reasonable” number of attempts. This isn’t a set figure, but usually means a couple of attempts for a fault that could cause a serious safety risk and four or more for a less serious one. If your car has been in the shop for 30 days (not necessarily in a row) then you’ve got yourself a lemon.
The first state to introduce a lemon law, Connecticut, gives rights to owners of defective vehicles at or under two years old or with a mileage of 24,000 or less. To date, the state has helped return more than $60 million in refunds and replacement vehicles. There’s a time window for repairs to be fixed, and if not, a refund should be in order.
Massachusetts protects consumers that have bought a new car with serious defects, or a used car with less than 125,000 miles at the point of sale. If a car has driven more than 125,000 miles it could still be covered if it fails an inspection within 7 days of purchase. The state’s lemon law requires vehicles to be used for personal purposes.
New Mexico has similar lemon laws to the above states. Again, it covers cars used mainly for personal use and the vehicle must have a weight below 10,000 pounds. The reasonable repair time is four attempts (or 30 days in the shop). After that the manufacturer is required to replace the car or offer a refund.
If you’ve bought a lemon, you’ve got every right to feel bitter. And with any luck the car will be covered by your state's lemon laws. If not, Peddle is always happy to buy your car from you. And if you don’t have the energy to navigate your state’s lemon laws and want to shift your car ASAP, Peddle is your BFF. Whether it’s working or not, we’ll always offer cash for junk cars. You serve us lemons, we make lemonade.
Finally retiring old-trusty? Get an offer in minutes-it's easy as pie